Star Trek Anniversary: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine (1993)

“We are explorers. We explore our lives day by day and we explore the galaxy trying to expand the boundaries of our knowledge.” Sisko- Emissary, Stardate: 46379.1

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine was the second first-run syndicated series featuring the Star Trek universe and the first to not be featured on a starship. It premiered on January 3, 1993 with the pilot episode “Emissary”.

The first mixed crew of Starfleet and aliens included Commander Benjamin Sisko, Major Kira Nerys of the Bajoran Militia, Odo the shape-shifting constable, Dr. Julian Bashir, Lt. Jadzia Dax, Chief Miles O’Brien (who had transferred over from the Enterprise-D), Sisko’s son Jake and the Ferengi bartender Quark. Later Worf from The Next Generation joined the cast as well as Lt. (j.g.) Ezri Dax. The station was seen as a “frontier town” in space. The series ran for seven seasons and had 173 episodes.

Leave a Reply